History of the Stonehouse at Canoe Cove Marina
The Stonehouse Pub: The Beginning
Secluded in a private setting at Canoe Cove Marina, the English-style manor was built in the 1930s as a family home by Hugh Rodd, a British immigrant who became a well-known businessman and entrepreneur in the Pacific Northwest. The house was made from locally quarried stones and boasted features typical of the era such as decorative leaded windows, fir floors and hand-hewed beams – which can still be admired to this day. Originally named “The Landing”, Rodd’s home was transformed to the Stonehouse Pub in 1985 and quickly became a favorite spot for Swartz Bay ferry travellers, and residents of the greater Victoria area.
The Stonehouse Today
Since November 2023 the Stonehouse Pub has been under new ownership. The new owners, Allan and Michelle Bishop, share a love for exquisite cuisine and have an unwavering commitment to hospitality. Having honed their restaurant skills in southern ventures, they seamlessly blend traditional culinary artistry with a contemporary twist. Their culinary philosophy is rooted in sourcing the finest local ingredients, ensuring that each dish is a symphony of flavours that tantalizes the taste buds. Allan and Michelle are dedicated to creating an atmosphere where guests feel not only welcomed but cherished. Their passion for providing exceptional service is reflected in every aspect of The Stonehouse Pub, from the warm ambiance to the friendly and attentive staff.
So, please join us on this exciting gastronomic adventure as Allan and Michelle invite you to savour a delightful blend of creativity and tradition. Whether you’re a seasoned food enthusiast or a casual diner seeking pub classics, we have innovative bites that will tantalize your taste buds. The Stonehouse Pub promises to be a haven where culinary artistry and heartfelt hospitality converge.
Whether you’re here to unwind after a long day, celebrate with friends or embark on a culinary adventure, we’re delighted to have you join us. Where good times are on tap, and every visit promises an experience worth toasting to. Cheers!
Canoe Cove Marina History at Swartz Bay
In the 1920’s, a small cove in Canoe Bay was used as a shipping point and safe-haven for rum runners during U.S. prohibition. During this period, contraband liquor was shipped to the San Juan Islands and several other locations in Puget Sound. By the end of the 20’s, a sheltered marina had been established in Canoe Cove. This facility was the birth of what is now Canoe Cove Marina. In the early 1930’s, a boat building operation specializing in construction of small wooden vessels began operations as Canoe Cove Marina. In 1958, the Marina was sold and the new owners continued to build a complete line of wooden boats, including sailboats. The last wooden boat was launched in 1964, heralding a succession of popular fibreglass powerboats called the “Canoe Cove” line of vessels.
The Marina, excluding the boat building section, which continued operations with the previous owners, was sold in 1974 to the present owners. As the popularity of pleasure boating increased over the years, so have the facilities and services of Canoe Cove Marina which currently offers over 450 “wet” slips, including 132 boathouses and 20 covered slips as well as a 120-vessel dry-land storage yard. As moorage and storage facilities expanded, so too have support services.
The Marina now operates one of the largest full-service yacht repair facilities in British Columbia, providing services from bottom paint application to major mechanical installations, structural repair and modifications of fibreglass, aluminium and steel vessels. Other onshore amenities include a fully stocked marine-hardware chandlery, “Canoe Cove Joe’s” seaside restaurant and coffee bar, full service fuel dock as well as laundry, shower and washroom facilities.
$1.2 million worth of upgrades to the haulout and yacht repair facilities were completed in March 2008. The main upgrades includes a brand new 55-ton Marine Travelift, a completely revamped drainage system to capture run-off & boat washing water, and a large paved section in the boatyard on which repairs to customer’s boats are done. Not only is the marina now eco-friendly, the new lift allows for the hauling and launching of bigger boats.
On September 9, 2013, Canoe Cove’s new 75-ton Marine Travelift went into service. It is the largest Travelift on Southern Vancouver Island capable of hauling boats up to 80 feet in length and weighing 186,000 lbs. Now boat owners with boats larger than 50 tonnes can avoid going to Vancouver, Nanaimo or Campbell River to get lifted.
When the natural setting of the property, the character of the buildings and the activity of the repair Yard is mixed with the holiday mindset of boaters, the atmosphere is always welcoming and definitely unique to Canoe Cove Marina.
HOURS & RESERVATIONS
We open at 11am on most days. We encourage reservations to guarantee seating.
The Stonehouse is bicycle friendly with a bike rack available. There is plenty of free parking available with lower and upper parking lots on premise. Additionally, customers who require wheelchair access will find two spots up front and center located at the upper parking lot with a beautiful garden walkway leading directly to us via the Pub.